RSS

7 Tools for Truly Effective Training Courses

08 Jun

Here you can download the resource documents presented in my talk “7 Tools for Truly Effective Training Courses.” You’ll find tools that can help you better organize your business English courses. They allow you to keep track of material covered (even if it just “emerges”), make sure you and your trainees know what you’re working towards, and ensure that your clients stay happy.

These tools have all proven effective in my own business courses. They help save time and energy and help you build coherent and effective courses. And if you’re wondering why the title of the talk claims there are 7 tools, but you only see 6 downloads, wonder no more! The 7th tool is a technique, not a document, but you’ll have to see the talk to find out what it is!

1. “Zero session” interviews

2. Needs discussion questions

3. Program storyboard

4. Lesson record

5. “The module that was”

6. Course log

In my talk at the 2014 TESOL France Annual Colloquium, I’ll explain how the documents work and how they’ve helped me to stay on top of the training courses I manage. In the meantime, feel free to post a question in the comments section and I’ll happily respond!

And of course, if you have any suggestions for improving any of the documents, please share it! We work better when we work together!

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “7 Tools for Truly Effective Training Courses

  1. Reia

    June 8, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    Again you help us out Christina – thank you for your wonderful insight into this profession that is teaching! Your ideas are inspiring and save us a lot of time.

     
    • RebuffetBroadus

      June 8, 2014 at 4:05 pm

      Aww, thanks Reia! That’s so kind of you! I’m glad I can help you save a bit of time–such a precious commodity, especially for us busy teachers! Have a nice Sunday!

       
  2. Chewie (Gangwon Dispatches)

    June 15, 2014 at 2:22 am

    Thank you for posting these organizers! They’ll help in my night class. I should have been thinking about these kinds of things before, but as they say, “better late than never.”

     
  3. Christina Rebuffet-Broadus

    October 12, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    Hi Chewie and dataenglish! I’m glad you’ve found these resources useful! I hope they help you out in your own courses, business or general. I think these resources aren’t limited to business courses, it’s just that that’s the context that I happen to teach in and I find that they’re not only helpful in holding the course together, but also as marketing tools. You can show clients the documents you use for efficient courses, which is always a good thing! Best of luck to you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
