RSS

iTDi + Shelly Terrell: Learning to go, webinar notes 1

22 Mar

At the beginning of March, I signed up for one of iTDi’s Advanced Teaching Skills Courses: Language Learning to Go, led by the brilliantissime Shelly Terrell, who is probably about as near to a living encyclopedia of apps, mobile learning, and the joys of Web 2.0-based learning as anyone’s ever seen.  Shelly and iTDi (International Teacher Development Institute) have set the course up on a private Google+ community (the course is not free, but for what you get out of it, it’s a steal at $50) and during the week the learners (me and about 30 other teachers in various places around the world) have “missions” to complete, consolidated by weekly webinars hosted by Shelly and iTDi faculty member Barbara Sakamoto.

Continuing with my experiment in sketchnoting, I’d like to share some of the tips and tools we learned about in the first weekly webinar. I have to admit I’m struggling to keep on top of teaching work, association volunteering, incoming projects and preparing for IATEFL Harrogate (in just one week!), so I’m a bit late with the notes. You’re all busy, busy teachers too, so you know what I mean!

Anyway, here are the notes–hope you get something out of them! (Disclaimer: I’m no artist, so apologies for the AWFUL drawing of Shelly–it looks absolutely nothing like her!) These are from the webinar back on March 9, 2014 but hopefully I’ll be able to catch up with the our “missions”! As you’ll see, we’ve already learned a lot in just the first week!

p. 1-2

Image

p. 3-4

Image

p. 5-6

Image

p. 7-8

Image

I’ll try to catch up and post notes from the other webinars if possible!

I’m really enjoying the course and have already started using some apps with a group of my clients, who have agreed to be the guinea pigs for the experiment. After seeing how engaging it can be to learn as a group on the Google+ community, I’ve set up a private Google+ for a group of 5 A2-ish level learners. I’ve also started giving “missions” for learners to do on Audioboo to help them practice their speaking skills outside of class. They can then post their Audioboo recordings to the Google+ community and comment on each other’s work. The group has just started, so we’ll see how they take to it. I’ll be blogging about that project as well in the near future, hopefully to encourage other teachers to try setting up something similar with their learners if they want to try!

And while working together in a virtual learning environment (VLE) is just plain fun, it is also based on sound theory. Here are a few resources that Shelly shared to help us understand how VLEs take advantage of social learning theories:

Howard Rheingold’s Peeragogy and Co-learning theories

Siemen’s Connectivism Theory

Vygotsky’s Social Cognitive Theory

To be continued…

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “iTDi + Shelly Terrell: Learning to go, webinar notes 1

  1. Reia

    March 24, 2014 at 10:30 am

    Thanks for such an informative blog Christine! It is much appreciated.

     
    • RebuffetBroadus

      March 26, 2014 at 9:55 pm

      Oh, thanks for the compliment Reia! I hope you find some useful things for your classes or just for you!

       
  2. Shelly Sanchez Terrell

    March 26, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Just saw this and truly touched. I also love your creation. I think you beyond captured the session and happy you are learning so much. You introduced me to this new app.

     
    • RebuffetBroadus

      March 26, 2014 at 10:00 pm

      Aw, thanks Shelly! I’m glad you like the drawings! But it’s not an app–good old pen, paper, and markers! There is a sketchnotes app, but I like using the old-fashioned stuff (for sketchnoting at least–otherwise I ❤ good apps!) I'm indeed learning a lot, even if I'll probably have to go back and catch up later because way too much stuff going on to keep up with the course (but I'm enjoying seeing what everybody else is doing! It's encouraging just seeing other people's projects that you've inspired!) Thanks again for all your advice and generosity! You're a gem, Shelly!

       

Leave a Reply

 
